jump to navigation

I am flying to the UN’s ITU Telecom in Bangkok August 23, 2008

Posted by GuySoft in Hamakor, open source, Uncategorized, wireless.
Tags:
trackback

Hi all,

I am happy to announce that I am flying to represent my country in the ITU Telecom conference in Bangkok. I am going to be there between the 30th of August and 6th of September. I am going there as a part of the youth forum, which is a nice way because all expenses are taken care of.

The goal of the ITU is to take care of telecommunication standards and you can read about them in Wikipedia. However I am going to a conference  whose main objective is closing the digital gap in third world countries.

One of the reasons I was chosen is because I am an activist in the open source community here in Israel playing around with Linux and new media at Zulo, and the soon to come Crictor. It seems that blogging and open source are after all a buzz word to the UN. I hope I’ll be able to turn those big words to actual thing in the field.

I would also like to hear from anyone reading, if you have any kind of information or subject you would like me to mention while I am there. This might be an opportunity to suggest good project ideas to people that can help them happen.

I don’t know if I’ll have time to blog at the conference about what is going on, but I’ll do my best. I will probibly blog first in my Hebrew Blog. Where you can see also a Hebrew copy of this post.

Comments»

1. Omer Zak - August 24, 2008

Please mention also accessibility to people with disabilities. Website design to make it easy for the blind to browse using screen reader. Caption any video clips you use for the hearing impaired. Support navigation by tabs and hotkeys for people with motor problems, who cannot easily control mice.

2. guysoft - August 24, 2008

Omer,
A good point I already thought of, specifically when it comes to internet standards. This week before I take off I am going to talk with the head of the W3C in Israel, and we might think of specific things to say.

3. I am going to the Internet Governance Forum in Egypt on Thursday « Guysoft’s Weblog - November 11, 2009

[…] in hope to meet new people and hear the talks. I see this visit as a continuation of my visit to ITU TELECOM Asia 2008 (which was a lot of […]


Leave a Reply

