jump to navigation

A script to Slice, Encode and Upload videos to Youtube April 17, 2008

Posted by GuySoft in Crictor, Hamakor, linux, open source, podcast, programming, python.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

In the past few days, I wrote a script that will take basically any video file, chop it to equal parts under 10 minutes, and upload the result to youtube.

The effect is that I can publish all of my video podcast to youtube, without the long and painful chopping and uploading of files via a browser.

I based the uploading on a perl script from catonmat. I wrote my extension in python.

Here is a link to the sourcecode (under GPL license)

I would love to receive feedback, and improvments.

Comments»

1. Peteris Krumins - April 18, 2008

Thanks for extending my program! Very work, Guy!🙂

2. John - April 22, 2008

Hey!
Did you change perl script?
I’m also getting “Failed extracting ‘addresser’ id for upload step two
YouTube might have redesigned😦 at ytup.pl line 242.”

Can you help me fix it?

Thanks.

3. guysoft - April 22, 2008

Hey John,
I did not change the perl script (that would mess up the point).

I solved the ‘addresser’ problem by limiting the description field to 150 chars, and removing all newlines. I would do that to all field and try.


Leave a Reply

